DYI

Golden Candle Sticks

When my fiancé and I purchased our first home almost a year ago my grandma gave me this pair of candle stick holders that I use to be fascinated with when I was younger.

20130617-102318.jpg

Yikes! I didn’t know what to say but I think my face did and I am pretty sure my face said “What do you want me to do with these, Carol?” It’s a good thing she knows me as well as she does. Before I could even gather my thoughts and form a confused thank you she was telling me to go ahead and paint them what ever color I’d like. She herself has painted them more times than she can recall and there is no harm in it I won’t ruin them. Whew! That was close. I was thinking what am i going to do with theses things because there is no way am going to hide these in a closet somewhere for two reasons: 1) I won’t remember to pull them out when Grandma comes over and 2) It’s not what she wanted. She would want them enjoyed.

Well it’s been eleven months but I finally got them painted. I was bored before dinner one day this past week and had some time when these caught my eye. I checked the art bin I have and found some left over Dazzling Metallics by DecoArt and Crystal Clear Acrylic Coating by Krylon. Both items left over from previous projects. I wasn’t sure how painting versus spray painting the candle stick holders would go but I figured I would try it and see what happens. The worst that could happen is it doesn’t turn out and I’d have to start over.

Here is one last look at those old tarnished, out dated candle stick holders.

20130617-104043.jpg
Than the painting began. After one coat of paint they weren’t looking that great and I was beginning to worry that I made a big mistake.

20130617-110310.jpg
A second coat was a bit better.

20130617-110548.jpg
The third coat was a charm. They looked like brand new candle stick holders.

20130617-110646.jpg
I let them dry for a good hour or so while I cooked dinner. I took them outside and sprayed them with Krylon Crystal Clear Acrylic Coating. I let them dry over night just to make sure they were good and dry before I handled them – just so I didn’t mess them up.

20130617-111202.jpg
I think they look pretty good, almost like brand new. Notice I didn’t paint the inside of the candle stick holders? I did that on purpose so that the next time I want to paint them I would have a hard time removing the old paint. Once they hand candles in them you won’t be able to tell I didn’t paint the inside anyways.
These types of projects are the kind I like; they didn’t cost a dime!
Candle stick holders – gift
Paint – left over from previous project
Coating – left over from previous project.

Products used:
Krylon 6-Ounce Crystal Clear Acrylic Coating Aerosol Spray
DecoArt DASK268 Dazzling Metallics Sample Pack

Until next time.

Leave a comment